Home Page

Manor Oak Nursery

Nursery Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Curriculum


At Manor Oak Nursery our curriculum takes into account the four principles of the Early Years Foundation Stage:


  1. all children are unique and competent learners.
  2. children learn to be independent by building positive relationships.
  3. the nursery environment should be secure and support learning in every way.
  4. children learn at different rates and all areas of the learning are important and inter-connected.


In the Early Years Foundation Stage children learn best when they experience interactions with others through physical activity and through play.  Our early years practice is based on on-going observations and assessment of the children and their interests.

We have 7 curriculum areas which are linked together:

3 Prime Areas 

  • personal, social and emotional development
  • physical development
  • communication and language

4 Prime Areas

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive art and design



Click on the link below for more information on the EYFS framework document from the Department of Education



Click on the link below to see the Development Matters guidance which is used as part of our daily observations, assessments and planning within the nursery

Long term plan 2020-2021